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MICHIGAN SECRETARY OF STATE 

PREPARING FOR YOUR MOBILE 
OFFICE VISIT 

State and federal law require that Michigan residents present specific documents to validate their eligibility to 

be issued a driver’s license, state ID, permit, vehicle registration, or other official driver or vehicle document. 

The following document offers guidance on how to obtain these documents ahead of a transaction.  

Document requirements for a first-time license or ID 

Please see SOS-428: Applying for a license or ID for a complete list of document requirements and examples of 

accepted documents.  

• Proof of legal presence (1 document) 

• Government-issued birth certificate with raised stamp or seal  

• Valid, unexpired U.S. passport  

• Valid, unexpired permanent resident card (Green Card) or citizenship document  

• Valid, unexpired foreign passport with U.S. visa and evidence of entry (I-94 stamp or printout) 

To order a copy of your birth certificate, visit Michigan.gov/VitalRecords.  

• Proof of Social Security number (1 document)  

• Social Security card 

• W-2 

• Pay stub 

• School records with full name and Social Security number  

• SSA 1099 or non-SSA 1099 form   

• SSA- L676 letter of ineligibility (issued within the last year) 

Official documents with your full name and Social Security number may be reviewed and accepted on a case-
by-case basis. To replace your Social Security card, visit SSA.gov/MyAccount/Replacement-Card. 

• Proof of identity (1 document)  

• Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card 

• Out-of-state, U.S. territories, or Canadian driver’s license or ID card. (Cards expired less than four years 

are accepted) 

• Employee photo ID issued by a federal or Michigan government agency 

• U.S. military ID with photo (DD-2, DD-1173 or CAC card) or U.S. military discharge or separation 

documents (such as a DD-214) 

• Photo ID from a federally recognized Native American tribe 

• Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC) prisoner ID. 

• Documents, including immigration documents with or without an entry stamp, (such as I-94 

Arrival/Departure form, U.S. State Department bio-data form and court-ordered supervision 

documents) 

• Michigan driver education certificate (only accepted for minors) 

http://michigan.gov/VitalRecords
http://ssa.gov/MyAccount/Replacement-Card
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• U.S. school records (photo ID, transcripts, diplomas, yearbooks or attendance records) 

• Proof of Social Security number (1 document)  

• Utility bill or credit card bill issued within the last 90 days (Electronic copies are 

• accepted) 

• Account statement from a bank or other financial institution issued within the last 90 days (Electronic 

copies are accepted) 

• Michigan high school, college or university report cards or transcripts 

• Mortgage, lease or rental agreement (Lease and rental agreements must include 

• landlord’s telephone number) 

• Pay stub or earnings statement issued with the name and address of the employee 

• Life, health, auto or home insurance policy 

• Federal, state or local government documents, such as receipts, licenses or assessments 

• Michigan title and registration (Registration must show current residential address) 

Other documents containing your name and address may be reviewed and approved on a case-bycase basis.  

• Name change documents: If you have changed your legal name from what appears on your birth 

certificate at any point, you must provide official legal documentation outlining when the name change 

occurred, and what your name was changed from and to.  

• Marriage license issued in U.S. 

• Divorce decree issued in U.S.  

• Court ordered name change  

• Government-issued adoption records 

 

Alternate documents for driver licenses and IDs 

If a member of your community does not have sufficient documents to meet the four ID requirements, they 

may submit alternative documents for review and possible approval. 

Under state law, residents experiencing homelessness can also submit their HMIS ID and profile sheet with 

their Social Security number and proof of legal presence document for a free state ID. Residents who have 

experienced incarceration can provide their MDOC ID and Basic Information Chart (BIC) with their Social 

Security number for proof of identity and proof of Social Security requirements.  

To request a document exception, please contact the Mobile Office Coordinator, Melissa Witt, at MDOS-

MobileOffice@michigan.gov. Requests must be placed at least two days prior to the scheduled Mobile Office 

visit and should include:  

• The individual’s full name (first and last) 

• Their contact information 

• The transaction they need to complete  

mailto:MDOS-MobileOffice@michigan.gov
mailto:MDOS-MobileOffice@michigan.gov
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• The document they don’t have  

• Any documents they do have 

 

Converting to REAL ID 

Beginning May 3, 2023, all Michigan residents will be required by law to present a REAL IDcompliant document 

to board a domestic flight in the United States, enter a military base, or visit some federal buildings. Residents 

who don’t already have a REAL ID-compliant document or enhanced license or ID can convert their standard 

Michigan driver’s license or state ID to REAL ID when renewing, replacing, or correcting their credential.  

To apply for REAL ID, residents must present:  

  

• Their current Michigan license or ID 

• Proof of legal presence (1 document) 

• Name change document (if legal name has changed during lifetime) For more information, visit 

Michigan.gov/REALID.  

 

Transferring a vehicle title and registering a vehicle 

After purchasing a vehicle in a private sale, a buyer must provide:  

  

• The original vehicle title with the complete and accurate odometer reading  

• If the seller is not present at the scheduled visit, they must sign the title and complete the seller’s 

section beforehand.  

• Their Michigan driver’s license or state ID  

• Proof of valid Michigan No-Fault insurance for the vehicle  

• Statement from the financial institution financing the vehicle, if there is a loan against it  

• Completed TR-11: Application for a Michigan Vehicle Title form 

 

Disability parking placard or license plate 

Residents with disabilities who qualify for a permanent and temporary disability parking placard or license 

plate may apply by submitting an application with their licensed physician or medical professional’s signature.   

  

• Application for a disability parking placard  

• Application for a disability parking license plate 

https://michigan.gov/REALID
https://michigan.gov/REALID
http://michigan.gov/REALID
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/tr-11L_16050_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/tr-11L_16050_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/bfs-108_16249_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/bfs-108_16249_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mv-110_16178_7.pdf
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Please note: Temporary parking placards cannot be renewed. Those who would like to apply for another 

temporary parking placard will need to submit a new application.  

Permanent parking placards are issued for four years at a time and can be renewed online at 

Michigan.gov/ContactSOS, by mail, at a Secretary of State office, or at the Mobile Office. 

http://michigan.gov/ContactSOS
http://michigan.gov/ContactSOS

